Summer Project

During the summer I went to Portugal. For this summer project I have taken inspiration from this trip, and more specifically the architecture that I visited and experienced. I have chosen to explore just three of the many places I visited, all are very different but have inspired me this summer.

First, the Palace of Pena, which is situated on the top of a hill in Sintra. The palace is brightly coloured with elaborate stone carvings and detailed tiles, all of which make you feel like you have been transported to another time.img_7556

Second, the Paula Rego gallery, which is a modern building designed by Eduardo Souto de Moura.img_7558

Third, The initiation Well on the grounds of the Quinta da Regaleira estate in Sintra. This ‘inverted tower’ was built into the slopes of Sintra to connect underground tunnels.img_7560

In order to represent these buildings, I chose to make 3D clay forms. I wanted the form to somewhat accurately represent the corresponding building, however, I also wanted the clay to be able to stand alone. The forms I have made are simplified versions of part of all of the building.

dsc_0043

My three final sculptures completely remind me of the places I visited. They act like souvenirs of my trip to Portugal.

Author: Crisiant Williams

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

