‘All in the Best Possible Taste with Grayson Perry’

All_In_The_Best_Possible_Taste_with_Grayson_Perry.png

I watched Grayson Perry’s three part documentary, which follows him around the country as he researches Britich class and taste.

The documentary was originally broadcasted on Channel 4 in 2012.

I made notes of key points and read mentions by Perry and the people he met, as well as my interpretation.

IMG_7616.jpg

After already doing quite a lot of research about these six tapestries, I was surprised how much more there was to say.

There was a much more personal approach to the documentary. We were able to meet the specific people that inspired the characters in the tapestries, hear their stories and see an insight into their lives.

The first episode was about the working class. The second, the middle class. The third the upper class.

I was surprised by how easily I was able to notice parts of myself and the thing I do and like within the classes. I was also able to imagine how people I know might be ‘categorised’, based on their choice of home, where their from, what they wear, etc. and not their income.

I found myself second guessing my choses in what I like and dislike, and the impression  I am giving to other people.

Author: Crisiant

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

