‘Black Paintings’

I have explored Frank Stella’s ‘Black Painting’ he made from 1958-60.

IMG_8496I have made a mini version of one of his paintings. Just as stella did, I have painted black angular stripes onto my small canvas, leaving slithers of blank raw canvas in-between.

The small scale of my canvas reminds me of the Key concept lecture we had about portable art Key Concepts: Portable Art. More specifically the works of Marcel Duchamp, where he mad miniature versions of his own works which would fit into a suitcase. The pieces were actual called ‘Boîte-en-valise’, or ‘box in a suitcase’.Boîte-en-valise (Box in a Valise), series B

My mini version severely lacks the intensity or power of the original.

I also recreated one of Stella’s ‘Black Paintings’ using stitch. Instead of asking black to a white background, I added line of white stitch to black fabric.IMG_8492Although my lines are highly precise and even, the fluidity of the fabric disrupts the lines. You could say these is a conflicting relationship between the material and the marks I have created. But, in someways I like this relationship.

Stella stressed that his works were to be considered objects. The paintings are not representational, instead he said ‘What you see is what you see.’ I feel that although again my smaller scale work has removed the impressionable nature of his works, that is have exaggerated (if ever so slightly) the idea of his works being objects. I have transformed his lines into a piece of textiles. The fabric can be handled, the stitch literally penetrates its surface, creating a distinguishable front and back.

 

Author: Crisiant Williams

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

