Draping Canvas

Looking back to what Robert Morris created by slicing and draping his industrial felt, I have used canvas to create a similar effect. I wanted to personally experience the scale and form of his works.

I have ripped horizontal strips across the middle of a large piece of canvas. I choose to rip the canvas rather than cut it, because I really like the frayed raw edge of the fabric, as well as the stray threads which drape across the canvas. Although the overall shape if my piece is very similar to Morris’s original, the rough and ready nature of the ripped and creased canvas has a different aesthetic. Morris’s is soft and flowing, whereas the flow of the canvas is interrupted by the creases.

IMG_8500IMG_8503

Author: Crisiant Williams

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

