Adding PVA to fabric

After playing with the draping of fabric to create a more sculptural form, I chose to experiment with stiffening fabric.

Starting with a square of white cotton fabric, I then ripped strips of fabric, which were the same length as the squad and about two inches wide. I ended up with about six-teen strips. Making sure they were evenly spaces, I attached each strip to the background squair  using a single line of stitch down the centre of the strip.

Once all strips were attached I soaked the whole thing in a mixture of PVA glue and water.  After ringing it out, I used a hair dryer to speed up the drying process, making sure to lift the strips, as to make them stick out from the background.

IMG_8517

I like the effect of this white structural fabric hung on a white wall. The texture and shadows become very apparent. IMG_8518

The PVA glue worked really well to stiffen the fabric but not mask the textural quality of the fabric. Without toughing the material you wouldn’t know PVA glue had been added.

Author: Crisiant Williams

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

