Artist Statement (for formative)

Pattern can take many forms, but my interest lies in the repetition and process of creating sequences. Taking much inspiration from Minimalist/Abstract artists such as Frank Stella, Agnes Martin and Eva Hesse, I have been creating non-representational objects of pattern.

My painting is based on the fact that only what can be seen there is there. It really is an object.’ ‘What you see is what you see.’ – Frank Stella

I am interested in utilising non-traditional ‘art’ materials. I have primarily been working with textiles, exploring free machine embroidery, draping and dyeing. Finding a mix between the two-dimensional and the sculptural. The surface embellishments or patterns I have made are simply circles and lines, but it is the subtle inconsistencies of these hand-made marks which intrigues me. When even a simple mark is repeated, drawn over and over again, it slowly changes and evolves. Each shape is theoretically the same, but in actuality quite different. There is a relationship between the marks themselves, and the process by which they were made. More recently I have been increasing the scale of my work to bring authority to these somewhat mundane materials.

IMG_8647

Author: Crisiant

I am a Fine Art student, studying at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

